Current research interests
Charles S Adams

Cooperative non-linear optics

The field of non--linear optics is at the forefront of progress in optical information and communication technologies. However, one area where non--linear optics has been constrained by fundamental physics is the control of photons at the single quanta level. Single photon non--linearities are tiny because the electric field of a photon is many orders of magnitude smaller than the binding field of electrons in matter. Our appraoch to enhance these tiny photon photon interactions is to convert photons into many atom excitations that do interact. The enhancement is proportional to the number of atoms that cooperate in the interaction therefore we refer to this approach as cooperative non-linear optics. Cooperative non-linear optics differs from conventional non-linear optics in that the non--linearity is mediated not directly by the interaction between light and matter, but indirectly by the interaction between light--induced excitations (dipole-dipole interactions).
Long term goals
To exploit cooperative non-linear optics to realise a fully deterministic all-optical quantum processor.
Current PGR students:
Hannes Busche (Start 2012- ), Chris Carr (2008- ), James Keaveney (2008- ), Dan Maxwell (2008- ), and David Paredes (2010-).
Current research assistants:
David Szwer.
Former students:
Richard Abel (Graduated 2011), Jon Pritchard (2011), Mark Bason (2009), Kevin Weatherill (2007), Paul Griffin (2005), Nick Parker (2004), Eleni Sakellari (2004), Thomas Winiecki (2001), Brian Jackson (2000), and Hilary Davies (1999).
Former research assistants:
Ulrich Krohn, Alex Gauguet, Ashok Mohapatra, Kevin Weatherill, Nick Parker, Nick Proukakis, Simon McLeod, Mark Leadbeater, and Krzysztof Szymaniec.
Current research grants:
We are supported by Durham University, the UK Research Council EP/H002839 and EP/F040253, and the EU FP7 Marie Curie action Coherence.
Content © Charles S Adams, Durham University 2012