In June 2007, a workshop on Non-equilibrium behaviour in superfluid gases at finite temperature was held in Sandbjerg, Denmark. At its conclusion it was decided to hold another workshop in approximately two years time, on such topics as kinetic equations, classical field theory, Kadanoff-Baym equations, projected Gross-Pitaevskii equations, the truncated Wigner approximation, Positive P, 2PI, etc., in particular as applied to cold, trapped atomic and molecular gases, but also on solid state systems that can be treated in a formally similar way. This workshop was held at Van Mildert College, in Durham, England from 14th–17th September 2009.

The speakers were

  1. Blair Blakie (University of Otago, New Zealand)
  2. Aurel Bulgac (University of Washington,Washington, USA)
  3. Natasha Berloff (University of Cambridge, UK)
  4. Lincoln Carr (Colorado School of Mines, Colorado, USA)
  5. Iacopo Carusotto (Università di Trento, Italy)
  6. Joel Corney (University of Queensland, Australia)
  7. Simon Cornish (Durham University, UK)
  8. Andrew Daley (Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck, Austria)
  9. Peter Drummond (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
  10. Dimitri Gangardt (University of Birmingham, UK)
  11. Crispin Gardiner (University of Otago, New Zealand)
  12. Thomas Gasenzer (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, Germany)
  13. Allan Griffin (University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
  14. Walter Hofstetter (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main, Germany)
  15. Janne Ruostekoski (University of Southampton, UK)
  16. Thorsten Köhler (University College London, UK)
  17. Marcos Rigol (Georgetown University, Washington DC, USA)
  18. Kazimierz Rzążewski (Polska Akademia Nauk, Poland)
  19. Daniele Sanvitto (Universita Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  20. Alice Sinatra (Ecole Normale Supérieure Paris, France)
  21. David Snoke (University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA)
  22. Reinhold Walser (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)
  23. Wojciech Zurek (Los Alamos National Laboratory, New Mexico, USA)

International Steering Committee

Local Organizing Committee

  • Simon Gardiner (Department of Physics, Durham University, UK)
  • Nick Proukakis (Department of Mathematics & Statistics, Newcastle University, UK)